Wrestling With An Octopus

If you are at all like me, you are already thinking about heading back into the classroom and the details of what that will look and feel like for your students.  I have an added dimension to plan for – a station rotation model using a set of Chromebooks.  Great news but holy moly, what direction do I run in first???  As I research resources, talk to colleagues who have some experience with this, read about best practices, and reference my CCSS aligned curriculum I am quickly overwhelmed.  Yes, my new reality is like a many tentacled octopus – and we are definitely wrestling!

Perhaps it is the expectations that I am placing on myself.  Never one to dip a toe into the water when I could just cannonball right in, I have quite a list of goals for myself and my students.  I have also offered to be a resource for other teachers to further their professional development.  Along the way I will be blogging, maintaining a website, creating learning portfolios to document the experiences of some of my students, and trying to figure out if my teaching is actually more effective as a result of this change.  The list is a teensy bit long but I am not ready to ditch any of it,…. yet.

My real problem is information overload.  For each of the tasks I listed for myself above, there are about a gazillion sub-topics, videos, hints, tips, tweets, blogs, books, and podcasts.  My brain hurts….

Maybe I need to stop looking, but I am one of those people who really struggles to do that. You know, the perfect resource could be right there, just beyond that next click.  I swear, its like gambling!  I am addicted to clicking.  There it is, that is my problem.  I am a serial clicker.  I’m glad we figured that out.

Let’s face it, I am going to have to pull my act together – August 25th is looming large!

Leave a Reply

